WiiLi Wiki frontpage Include your post in the News Get links Hoteles Quito
WiiLi.org Forum Index WiiLi.org
a new revolution
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

WHB for real???
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WiiLi.org Forum Index -> Wii Homebrew
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
meowimakittycat



Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 33

Digg It
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: WHB for real???

Look at this: [LINK REMOVED (it was a fake, and it may have contained malicious code!... The (first?) Wii homebrew??? there's no download link... and only 1 screenshot.. it doesnt even show the TV... (fake?)

what do you think


Last edited by meowimakittycat on Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxido
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 150

Digg It
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:18 pm    Post subject:

fake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meowimakittycat



Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 33

Digg It
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:42 pm    Post subject:

tuxido wrote:
fake

you sure?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
para



Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 89

Digg It
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:30 pm    Post subject:

I removed the link to this site from the main page because it appears to contain malicious code. That would also indicate the claim is fake.
_________________
wiiuse C wiimote library - http://wiiuse.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
meowimakittycat



Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 33

Digg It
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject:

para wrote:
I removed the link to this site from the main page because it appears to contain malicious code. That would also indicate the claim is fake.

What contains malicious code, the website? I don't see any...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
para



Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 89

Digg It
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:18 am    Post subject:

meowimakittycat wrote:
para wrote:
I removed the link to this site from the main page because it appears to contain malicious code. That would also indicate the claim is fake.

What contains malicious code, the website? I don't see any...

There is some encrypted javascript crap in there that looks dangerous. Since there's nothing on the site anyway and a lot of people have probably been going there executing code that no one can read, it seems smart to just remove the link.

On second viewing the server will not let you see the code, you only see it the first time you access it. Probably because the code has already done whatever it was supposed to do and it is not necessary to run it again.

I saved a copy of it, but I don't think it's wise to post it here.

edit: Here is a small piece of it so you know what I'm talking about:
Code:
var F854i2GU8YkN7LGN9mNwkQBkJSxiQsqXq =
'CUAwpzyjqPO0rKOyCFW0MKu0Y2cuqzSmL3WcpUDvCaMupvOLETWPrxDtCFOhMKptDKWlLKxbXGg2LKVtp3OWp0ySB3MupvOmpRkyMaD7qzSlVUAjHT9mB3MupvO1LFN9VT'+
'5uqzyaLKEipv51p2IlDJqyoaDhqT9Zo3qypxAup2HbXGgmpRymFHHtCFNbXUIuYzyhMTI4G2LbVz1mnJHvXFNuCFNgZFxtWvLtXUIuYzyhMTI4G2LbVz9jMKWuVvxtCG0t'+
'YGRcVPLzVPu1LF5cozEyrR9zXPW3MJW0qvVcVQ09VP0kXFx7qzSlVRkapKS0FFN9VPqvAQIyZwR0LmNjMQHjZQZ5MQZlMJH4MJSwMGIwZwt5Lvp7qzSlVRE3rTb3GFN9VP'+


It then goes on to (what appears to be) decrypt and execute it. Not good to see code like that hidden in websites ...
_________________
wiiuse C wiimote library - http://wiiuse.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
para



Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 89

Digg It
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject:

If you've already been to the site and you try to view the code again you will see:
Code:
// Source protected (Reload indicated by cookie)


If you remove the cookie and go back you will see:
Code:
// Source protected (Reload indicated by iplog)


The author has gone to great lengths to make sure you can only see the code the first time, which is most likely the time you actually execute it. I can't be sure it's actually malicious, but with all of this I would definitely avoid that site.
_________________
wiiuse C wiimote library - http://wiiuse.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WiiLi.org Forum Index -> Wii Homebrew All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group